Insects, a major risk for cereal storage

Insects represent a major risk to the quality and value of stored cereals. They can cause significant damage to grain by consuming it, perforating it and depositing their excrement, which can lead to : loss of weight and volume, deterioration in quality.

Insects can alter the flavour, smell and texture of the grainsPresence of contaminants, making it difficult or impossible to market.

Primary or secondary insects?

  • The primary insects : They attack whole, healthy grains as soon as they are infested in the silo. Among the most common are weevils (wheat weevil, rice weevil), bruchids and flour moths.
  • Secondary insects : They attack grains already damaged by primary insects, mould or handling. Among the most common are silvins, triboliums and capuchins.
Find out more about insect pests of stocks arrow_forward_ios

The importance of prevention and monitoring

Insect control is becoming increasingly complex. In just a few years, the number of plant protection products available has been considerably reduced, and more and more markets are ruling out their use. The use of alternative methods is therefore becoming an imperative, especially as the systematic use of insecticides can lead to the appearance of insects resistant to the handful of molecules still available on the market.

It is therefore essential to prioritise all preventive insect control measures, which can be grouped together in a technical storage itinerary, each stage of which contributes to the ultimate control of insects.

Monitoring temperature and ventilation: a key factor for success

Temperature plays a crucial role in the development of insects in stored cereals. Each insect species has a minimum development temperature (MDT) below which it cannot develop, and an optimum development temperature (T°C) at which it can develop most rapidly. 

In practice, the following effects can be observed: 

  • During the winter months, when temperatures in silos are low, insects are generally inactive. This is the ideal time to implement preventive measures, such as cleaning silos and storing healthy, dry grain.
  • In spring and summer, when temperatures rise, insects become more active and their development accelerates. This is the most critical period for combating infestations.

Consequently, monitoring temperature and detecting hot spots in grain silos are essential practices for preventing the risk of insects developing. Coupled with effective ventilation control to lower the temperature in the silos, this ensures optimum prevention.

3 ventilation levels recommended by Arvalis

To maintain the quality of the grain, it must be cooled as quickly as possible to protect it from insect pests.

To achieve this, a cooling ventilation strategy needs to be put in place as soon as the crop is harvested, to lower the temperature of the grains in successive stages to around 5°C at the start of winter.

Consequently, monitoring temperature and detecting hot spots in grain silos are essential practices for preventing the risk of insects developing. Coupled with effective ventilation control to lower the temperature in the silos, this ensures optimum prevention.

Discover the 3 ventilation levels
arrow_forward_ios

Connecting silos and automating ventilation

Insect control is becoming increasingly complex. In just a few years, the number of plant protection products available has been considerably reduced, and more and more markets are ruling out their use. The use of alternative methods is therefore becoming an imperative, especially as the systematic use of insecticides can lead to the appearance of insects resistant to the handful of molecules still available on the market.

It is therefore essential to prioritise all preventive insect control measures, which can be grouped together in a technical storage itinerary, each stage of which contributes to the ultimate control of insects.

Javelot connected solutions eligible for CEPP

Since 2016, the C.E.P.P (Certificats d'Economie de Produit Phytopharmaceutique) scheme has aimed to reduce, improve and control the use of plant protection products in the agricultural environment.

Our connected solutions enable our customers (cooperatives, retailers, farmers) to collect C.E.P.P points via action sheet 2023-065, to justify their commitment to reducing the use of plant protection products.
Find out more about CEPP
arrow_forward_ios

IoTrap, our solution for early insect detection

To connect all types of storage facilities and make our Store&save ® platform accessible to everyone. 

With a wide range of equipment, we connect all types of storage to feed all your temperature and ventilation data back to the Store&save ® platform in real time.

All our equipment operates on low-frequency radio networks, ensuring optimal data transmission regardless of your 3G/4G coverage.

 

calendar-full linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

Déjà client ? 
Connectez-vous

Les insectes, un risque majeur pour le stockage des céréales

Les insectes représentent un risque important pour la qualité et la valeur des céréales stockées. Ils peuvent causer des dommages importants aux grains en les consommant, en les perforant et en déposant leurs excréments, ce qui peut entraîner : perte de poids et de volume, dégradation de la qualité.

Les insectes peuvent altérer la saveur, l'odeur et la texture des grains, les rendant impropres à la consommation humaine ou animale, Présence de contaminants, entraînant des difficultés, voire l’impossibilité de commercialiser.

Insectes primaires ou secondaires ?

  • Les insectes primaires : Ils s'attaquent aux grains sains et entiers dès leur infestation du silo. Parmi les plus fréquents, on trouve les charançons (charançon du blé, charançon du riz), les bruches et les papillons de la farine.
  • Les insectes secondaires : Ils s'attaquent aux grains déjà endommagés par les insectes primaires, par des moisissures ou par des manipulations. Parmi les plus fréquents, on trouve les silvains, les triboliums et les capucins.
En savoir plus sur les insectes ravageurs des stocks arrow_forward_ios

L'importance de la prévention et de la surveillance

La lutte contre les insectes se complexifie. En quelques années, le nombre de produits phytopharmaceutiques disponibles s’est considérablement réduit, et de plus en plus de débouchés excluent leur usage. L’utilisation de méthodes alternatives devient donc un impératif, d’autant plus qu’une utilisation systématique d’insecticide peut entraîner l’apparition d’individus résistants à la poignée de molécules encore disponibles sur le marché.

Il est donc indispensable de privilégier toutes les actions préventives de lutte contre les insectes qui peuvent être rassemblées dans un itinéraire technique du stockage dont chaque étape apporte sa contribution à la maîtrise finale des insectes.

Surveiller la température et ventiler : un facteur clé de succès

La température joue un rôle crucial dans le développement des insectes des céréales stockées. En effet, chaque espèce d'insectes à une température minimale de développement (TMD) en dessous de laquelle son développement est impossible, et une température optimale de développement (T°C) à laquelle son développement est le plus rapide. 

En pratique, on peut observer les effets suivants: 

  • Pendant les mois d'hiver, lorsque les températures dans les silos sont basses, les insectes sont généralement inactifs. C'est la période idéale pour mettre en place des mesures de prévention, telles que le nettoyage des silos et le stockage des grains sains et secs.
  • Au printemps et en été, lorsque les températures augmentent, les insectes deviennent plus actifs et leur développement s'accélère. C'est la période la plus critique pour la lutte contre les infestations.

En conséquence, la surveillance de la température et la détection des points chauds dans les silos à grains sont des pratiques essentielles pour prévenir du risque de développement des insectes. Couplée à un pilotage efficace de la ventilation pour abaisser la température dans les silos, cela permet d’assurer une prévention optimale.

3 paliers de ventilation préconisés par Arvalis

Pour garantir le maintien de la qualité des grains, il est nécessaire de les refroidir le plus rapidement possible pour les préserver des insectes ravageurs.

Pour cela, il faut mettre en place une stratégie de ventilation de refroidissement, dès la récolte, pour abaisser, par paliers successifs, la température des grains aux alentours de 5°C en début d’hiver.

En conséquence, la surveillance de la température et la détection des points chauds dans les silos à grains sont des pratiques essentielles pour prévenir du risque de développement des insectes. Couplée à un pilotage efficace de la ventilation pour abaisser la température dans les silos, cela permet d’assurer une prévention optimale.

Découvrez les 3 paliers de ventilation
arrow_forward_ios

Connecter les silos et automatiser la ventilation

La lutte contre les insectes se complexifie. En quelques années, le nombre de produits phytopharmaceutiques disponibles s’est considérablement réduit, et de plus en plus de débouchés excluent leur usage. L’utilisation de méthodes alternatives devient donc un impératif, d’autant plus qu’une utilisation systématique d’insecticide peut entraîner l’apparition d’individus résistants à la poignée de molécules encore disponibles sur le marché.

Il est donc indispensable de privilégier toutes les actions préventives de lutte contre les insectes qui peuvent être rassemblées dans un itinéraire technique du stockage dont chaque étape apporte sa contribution à la maîtrise finale des insectes.

Les solutions connectées Javelot éligibles au CEPP

Depuis 2016, le dispositif de C.E.P.P (Certificats d'Economie de Produit Phytopharmaceutique) a pour objectif de réduire, améliorer et contrôler l’utilisation des produits phytosanitaires dans le milieu agricole.

Nos solutions connectées permettent à nos clients (coopératives, négoces, agriculteurs) de pouvoir collecter des points C.E.P.P via la fiche action 2023-065, pour justifier leur engagement dans la réduction d’utilisation de produits phytosanitaires.
S'informer sur les CEPP
arrow_forward_ios

IoTrap, notre solution pour une détection précoce des insectes

Pour connecter tous les types de stockages et rendre notre plate-forme Store&save ® accessible à tous. 

Grâce à une large gamme d’équipements, nous connectons tous les types de stockages afin de faire remonter en temps réel vers la plateforme Store&save ® toutes vos données de températures et de ventilation. 

Tous nos équipements fonctionnent sur des réseaux radio basse fréquence, assurant une transmission des données optimales, quelle que soit votre couverture 3G/4G.

 

calendar-full linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram